In 2010, a school within Shawnee County feared they had a possible Suicide Cluster within their district. After some research and consulting with public health officials it was determined it was not a cluster. During that time, it became very apparent that Shawnee County was not prepared to deal with such an event, if one were to occur.

A group was formed with representation from schools, public health, law enforcement and mental health to create a plan for the community. From this group, the Shawnee County Suicide Cluster Response and Prevention Plan was created.

Once the plan was put into place, the group decided there was still work to be done and the Shawnee County Suicide Prevention Coalition was born. The mission of the coalition is to raise awareness about suicides in Shawnee County, including resources for residents to access.

This website is NOT intended for those who are in need of immediate assistance. If you or someone you know is in need of immediate help please call 911, Valeo Behavioral Health Care Crisis Hotline (785) 234-3300 or the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at (800) 273-8255.


President:  Meg Braun
Coordinator of School Psychologists
Topeka Public Schools

 Vice President: Lt. John Sturgeon
Professional Standards Unit
Topeka Police Department

Treasurer/Resource Development Committee Chair: Teresa Taylor, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, TCRN
Trauma Prevention Coordinator/Outreach Educator
Stormont Vail Health

Secretary/Training Committee Chair: Steve Christenberry, MS, LMLP
Prevention & Education Specialist
Family Service & Guidance Center

Community Outreach Chair: Tara Wallace, MSW, LSCSW, CTF-CBT, CCATP
Therapeutic Community Outreach Services

Karen Stafford, LSCSW
Crisis & Intake Manager
Valeo Behavioral Health Care

John Potter
Deputy Command Chaplain
Kansas Army National Guard